Death of a Liar

Author(s): M. C. Beaton

General Fiction

Sergeant Hamish Macbeth is alarmed to receive a report from a woman in the small village of Cronish in the Scottish Highlands. She has been brutally attacked and the criminal is on the loose. But upon further investigation, Hamish discovers that she was lying about the crime. So when the same woman calls him back about an intruder, he simply marvels at her compulsion to lie. This time, though, she is telling the truth. Her body is found in her home and Hamish must sort through all of her lies to solve the crime. Praise for Death of a Valentine: 'A fun new read.' Woman's World 'An inventive, constantly surprising plot...explosive and engaging.' Booklist Praise for Death of a Witch: 'Full of the author's trademark zest and wit...Beaton fans will be delighted.' Publishers Weekly 'A sound mystery featuring a generous portion of Hamish's complicated relationships and the usual delightful Highland descriptions.' Kirkus


Available Stock:

Add to Cart

Click & Collect

Add to Wishlist

Product Information

The much-loved Hamish Macbeth series... a beguiling blend of wry humour and sharp observations of rural life. Good Book Guide The detective novels of M C Beaton, a master of outrageous black comedy, have reached cult status. -- Anne Robinson The Times It's always a special treat to return to Lochdubh. The New York Times

This is M.C. Beaton's 30th Hamish Macbeth novel. She is also the author of 26 Agatha Raisin mysteries, a quartet of Edwardian murder mysteries and numerous Regency romances, also published by Constable. She lives in Paris and a Cotswolds village that is very much like Agatha's beloved Carsely.

General Fields

  • : 9781780331096
  • : Murdoch Books
  • : Constable
  • : January 2015
  • : 224mm X 141mm X 25mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : M. C. Beaton
  • : Hardback
  • : 272