There Will be Lies

Author(s): Nick Lake

General Fiction

Shelby Jane Cooper is seventeen, pretty and quiet. It's just Shelby and her mom, Shaylene, a court stenographer who wears pyjama jeans, stitches tapestry, eats ice-cream for dinner and likes to keep Shelby safe. So safe she barely goes out. So safe she doesn't go to school. Because anything could happen, to a girl like Shelby. Anything. When Shelby gets knocked down by a car, it's not just her leg that's broken: Shelby's world is shattered. Her mom turns up to collect her and drives off into the night, like it's the beginning of a road trip, like two criminals on the run, like Thelma and Louise or Bonnie and Clyde. And somehow, everywhere she looks, there's a coyote watching her, talking to her, telling her not to believe. Who is Shelby Jane Cooper? If the person who keeps you safe also tells you lies, who can you trust?

$6.50(AUD)

Available Stock:
1

Add to Cart

Click & Collect


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Truth and lies collide in a superbly twisty, heart-in-mouth thriller for readers of Gone Girl, Sophie McKenzie and S.J. Watson. From Printz-winning, Carnegie shortlisted Nick Lake

Nick Lake lives near Oxford with his wife and family. He works in publishing by day and writes books in every spare moment he can find. His powerful and moving novel In Darkness, about the Haitian earthquake, won the 2013 Michael L. Printz Award and was shortlisted for the Carnegie Medal. His second novel for Bloombury, Hostage Three, also received great acclaim.

General Fields

  • : 9781408856000
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : August 2014
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Nick Lake
  • : Paperback
  • : Export/Airside
  • : 464